Bozo – Living up to a name.

My earliest memory of Boz (as he was affectionately known), was when we went to see him at the farm, I remember crying all the way home cause I didn’t want him I wanted the black one instead. As it turned out he was the best dog a family could ever wish for.

My second memory of him is of my mum running through the living room holding him out in front of her leaving a trail of poo behind her, early training was a challenge. Next was teething and terrorised toes ensued. He grew into the most enormous yellow Labrador I have ever seen, though he never really grew up. He ate anything and everything, if he got upstairs he could merrily spend an afternoon devouring everything from corn dollies to water games, shoes were fair game, as was the bamboo furniture, the handles on the kitchen units, he even had a go at eating his way through the kitchen wall.

He never got the hang of fetch but we loved him, even when he sat on your knee till your legs went numb. Walks were never dull, recall was hit and miss and he had an embarrassing tendency to pitch invade the local football teams mid match and steal the ball. He was equally despised by the local fishermen as he leapt off the jetty into the water, top bombing!

I remember playing football in the park, the ball on the floor as I prepared to kick it through the goal, Bozo came running up behind me at full crack heading for the ball, I can still see my feet in front of my face as I seemed to hang horizontally in mid air before crashing back to earth with a bump, ouch!

Sadly the old saying live fast die young applied to Bozo, he died of cancer aged seven, we were all devastated, but he’s never been forgotten. Not even by the neighbours son who he dragged clear across a field on his stomach because my dad had said, “yes you can hold the lead just don’t let go”. I now have three little boys of my own and a chocolate lab called Holly who is blessedly better behaved than Bozo was, but he was one in a million and totally irreplaceable.

IMG_1339 Holly, and some un-terrorized baby toes.

 

This post is an entry into the Tots100/Swell UK competition.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Judith Post
    Oct 31, 2013 @ 03:30:31

    This was so much fun! Made me laugh. I can see why you got another Lab.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

